Day 8 – Juices, Smoothies, Soups

Over the years, I have been more and more interested in natural food sources for good health. More recently, I have watched the documentaries “Forks Over Knives” and “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead”.  Both have opened my mind to changes I could try with my own diet and nutrition.

For these 40 days, I am trying to eat mostly fruits and veggies. At that, I am actually drinking most of my fruits and veggies in the form of juices, smoothies and soups. I was greatly intrigued by Joe Cross’ story and transformation in “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead”.  He went on a 60-day juice fast, followed by a plant-based diet. Through this dramatic change in his eating habits, he lost about 100 pounds and gradually reduced all medications to none.

I don’t really have weight to lose, per say, but I do want to lose a little jiggle around the middle and tone and tighten the rest. What intrigued me also in the film was a woman who tried the fast as a “reboot” which helped her reduce her migraines.  That is a valid part of my health goal. I have suffered with migraines monthly, for years. Some episodes are quite debilitating. Unless you’ve had one, you wouldn’t know that it’s far from just a really bad headache. You can read Joe’s blog and even sign up for his smoothie recipes at http://www.fatsickandnearlydead.com.

I am not following any diet or recipes strictly rather buying fruits and veggies that are locally available and blending them into juices, smoothies and soups.  For the first three days off of added sugars , processed foods and meats, I must admit I felt lethargic and head achy. I have no doubt I was detoxing. But day four and forward, I started feeling more energized, naturally getting up earlier each day and not really feeling any more hungry than normal.

Leave a Reply

