Day 9 – Salads for Sustenance

As I mentioned yesterday, primarily I am juicing or making smoothies and soups out of fresh or frozen fruits and veggies.  Some days, though, I feel I need something more than liquid nutrition so I substitute with actual fruits and veggies in their raw form for snacks. I may even replace a liquid lunch or dinner with an actual salad.

I really enjoy the visual punches of colour and the flavours of the individual veggies in the salad. In fact, I savour the flavours now more than ever.  It’s the easiest meal to make too and yet, can be simplified even further if you’ve prepped your veggies at the beginning of the week. I wash and cut my produce and store them in separate containers in the fridge.  This makes them readily available as ingredients for juices, smoothies, soups, snacks or salads. When you have your ingredients at the ready, it’s easier to stay on track with healthy eating.

As dressing, I mix 1-2 tbsps of extra virgin olive oil with 1-2 tbsps of either white or balsamic or apple cider vinegar. The amount is determined by the size of the salad but the portion for me is 1 to 1. Then I just drizzle it on top lightly, not soakingly.

My go-to base salad consists of romaine lettuce, cucumber, bell peppers and tomatoes. If I feel like adding meat, it is either grilled chicken breast, sardines or tuna.  This leaves me feeling very satisfied without any guilt since it’s still a very healthy plate of veggies – just in its raw form, not blended.

Leave a Reply

