Day 32 – Last Quarter

Disclaimer:  The following is a personal recount of my day.  It is not a recommendation.  Consult your physician before beginning any exercise routine or dietary changes.

The last ten days I decided I would post about the exercises I did and the food I ate.  Yesterday (10 days out) was a rest day filled with chores and errands etc. as I was preparing for my daughter’s birthday bash.  Today (9 days out), I will admit was definitely a cheat day as far as food.  We had a lovely, celebratory brunch with confetti pancakes, bacon and baked beans. MMmmmmm…..bacon!  And a side of pure orange juice.  My late afternoon/early evening lunch/dinner was leftover quiches and piggies in blankets, with a side of leftover cake!  So way off my nutritional choices but, hey, it was that kind of day. I will dub it my cheat day, accept it, and make healthier choices tomorrow.

As far as my workout, I did 30 minutes on the treadmill on app setting number 1 which gives variation in speed and incline as though you are going up and down hills. I use the treadmill not just as cardio but also as my warmup.  It gets my heart rate up and my muscles loosened for optimal movement.  I like to work lower body after a rest day so today focused on legs and butt.  Since I workout at home, I performed the following self-weighted exercises:

100 squats                                                                                                                                       100 sumo squat pulses                                                                                                                 100 hip raises                                                                                                                                100 each leg, donkey kicks                                                                                                         100 lying hamstring curls                                                                                                          100 seated leg extensions                                                                                                           100 butt clenchers                                                                                                                       50 each leg, fire hydrants                                                                                                              50 each leg, forward lunge                                                                                                        50 each leg, abductor/adductor swings                                                                                  100 each leg, side-lying knee-toe clams                                                                                                                         100 calf raises

Then I finished with static stretching of the quads, hams and glutes.  I really love stretching my leg muscles especially after a good workout. It feels amazing!

Tomorrow, I intend to up my water intake for the day and get back into my usual healthy eating choices.

Leave a Reply

