Day 33 – Lean on Me

Disclaimer:  The following is a personal recount of my day.  It is not a recommendation.  Consult your physician before beginning any exercise routine or dietary changes.

Today is 8 days out from completion. My diet is easing back into including my previous “usual” fare.  Sundays we tradtitionally brunch so my first meal included coffee, a pancake, bacon, scrambled eggs and cheese. My lunch was a delicious fruit smoothie consisting of  banana, strawberries, protein powder, almond milk, honey and cinnamon (made by my daughter) and dinner was grilled chicken with zuchinni, green pepper and sweet potato fries.

Today’s workout is shoulders and triceps. Growing up, I always had really bony shoulders. So bony that it was uncomfortable for friends to lay their head on my shoulder. It’s actually the end of my clavicle that protrudes a bit so working my shoulder muscles helps create more roundness.  I love and hate working out my triceps.  My triceps seem to hit burnout pretty quickly. But I do love the look of arms with toned triceps, especially when definition shows without even flexing. Very sexy.

Today’s workout began with 30 minutes on the treadmill on app setting number 2 which had several variances in incline, decline and speed. My exercises concentrated on shoulders and triceps with the following workout:

front raise, 2 sets of 25 at 8 lbs, 1 set of 50 no weights                                                     tricep kickbacks, 2 sets of 25 at 8 lbs, 1 set of 50 no weights                                        lateral raise, 2 sets of 25 at 8 lbs, 1 set of 50 no weights                                             overhead extension, 2 sets of 25 at 10 lbs, 1 set of 50 no weights                          shoulder press, 2 sets of 25 at 8 lbs, 1 set of 50 no weights                                              skull crushers, 2 sets of 25 at 10 lbs, 1 set of 50 no weights                                          arnold press, 2 sets of 25 at 8 lbs, 1 set of 50 no weights                                               tricep pulldowns, 4 sets of 25 with strongest resistance bands

Being my last week until finish, I am doing light/no weights with higher reps to tone and cut.  When I say “no weights” I mean exactly that.  When you concentrate on the particular muscle you are training and use perfect form, you can create your own resistance and still feel a nice burn in your muscles.  This enables me to put in extra reps without burnout.

Leave a Reply

